banner image
THE HARDY BOYS ONLINE: An unofficial online resource for fans of the Hardy Boys books

Nancy Drew crossovers

The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew have joined forces several times, both in print and on the television screen. The teen detectives collaborated in the following series:

Early 1980s

The young sleuths often crossed paths in the early 1980s.

Super Sleuths 1

They first met in 1981, when Wanderer Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, published Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys: Super Sleuths!, in which Frank and Joe team up with Nancy in seven short stories. "Together for the first time," the cover proclaimed. The book was credited to Carolyn Keene and Franklin W. Dixon, who wrote a short foreword.

Some aspects of the book are disappointing. In the first story, Nancy simply arrives in Bayport for a visit with the Hardys, and the three act like old friends. It's too bad that the creators decided to waste the potential magic of an initial Drew/Hardy meeting. As well, the cover art is unconvincing: Frank and Joe are quite obviously cut-and-pasted into the original painting of Nancy.

Super Sleuths 2

A second volume of Super Sleuths was released in 1984. Once again, there are seven short stories. (Trivia: In the story titled "HB," we learn that Joe always wins when playing Monopoly.)

Campfire Stories

Also in 1984, Wanderer released Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys Campfire Stories.

Be a Detective

In 1984 and 1985, Wanderer published the Be a Detective Mystery Stories (by Carolyn Keene and Franklin W. Dixon), which were similar in format to the Choose Your Own Adventure books. Six volumes were released:

  1. The Secret Of The Knight's Sword
  2. Danger On Ice
  3. The Feathered Serpent
  4. Secret Cargo
  5. The Alaskan Mystery
  6. The Missing Money Mystery

SuperMysteries (Casefiles era)

From 1988 to 1998, Archway Paperbacks published the Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys SuperMysteries (by Carolyn Keene), which were based on the characters from the Hardy Boys Casefiles and Nancy Drew Files series. As the use of the Keene pseudonym indicates, the books were targeted mainly at Nancy Drew readers.

  1. Double Crossing
  2. A Crime for Christmas
  3. Shock Waves
  4. Dangerous Games
  5. The Last Resort
  6. The Paris Connection
  7. Buried in Time
  8. Mystery Train
  9. Best of Enemies
  10. High Survival
  11. New Year's Evil
  12. Tour of Danger
  13. Spies and Lies
  14. Tropic of Fear
  15. Courting Disaster
  16. Hits and Misses
  17. Evil in Amsterdam
  18. Desperate Maneuvers
  19. Passport to Danger
  20. Hollywood Horror
  21. Copper Canyon Conspiracy
  22. Danger Down Under
  23. Dead on Arrival
  24. Target for Terror
  25. Secrets of the Nile
  26. A Question of Guilt
  27. Islands of Intrigue
  28. Murder on the Fourth of July
  29. High Stakes
  30. Nightmare in New Orleans
  31. Out of Control
  32. Exhibition of Evil
  33. At All Costs
  34. Royal Revenge
  35. Operation Titanic
  36. Process of Elimination

Super Mysteries (Undercover Brothers era)

Following the boys' relaunch as the "Undercover Brothers", a new series of Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys Super Mysteries began in 2007. Unlike the previous SuperMysteries series, the books are credited to Carolyn Keene and Franklin W. Dixon, rather than just Keene.

  1. Terror on Tour (2007)
  2. Danger Overseas (2008)
  3. Club Dread (2009)
  4. Gold Medal Murder (2010)

Television crossovers

For information about HB/ND television crossovers, visit the television page.